Ed’s Blog from the Bog: Ballybofey battler McCormack cops Golf’s Order of Merit

Ed’s Blog from the Bog: Ballybofey battler McCormack cops Golf’s Order of Merit

Author: Joe/Friday, November 10, 2017/Categories: News, Golf

Rate this article:
No rating

Ed's Blog from the Blog 

Cead mile mile failte, one hundred thousand welcomes to this week's blog which comes to you from a little island, south west of beautiful Blacksod. Much to report especially our end of season results, which are available on the IBG (Irish Blind Golf) website.

                       Paul and Darragh Tame Hermitage 

Yes indeed the Ballybofey Battler, Paul McCormack, and his guide Jim took on the challenge that is Hermitage GC and there was ever only going to be one winner, as the former New York football star stormed to a stellar victory in Category 1. Adrian Downey chased Paul all the way to finish a gallant 2nd. However Paul's heroics were equalled by the Thurles tornado, Darragh Stakelum, who annexed the category 2 title with a display for the ages. Irish Open ladies champion, Carol Brill's brilliant putting performance catapulted her to a highly creditable 2nd place finish.

                             Patrick Morgan Jnr's Day of Redemption 

Our final order of merit event of a long season was at Royal Dublin GC. And what a day of redemption it proved to be for rising star, Patrick Morgan Jnr., who river danced his way around a links that has been made famous by the exploits of Christy O Connor Snr. Patrick Jnr was pushed all the way to the Cat 1 title by Clondalkin colossus, Adrian Downey, who has had a stellar season. Daragh Stakelum proved that Lar Corbett is not the only superstar in Thurles as he edged out Paul O Rahally for the Cat 2 honours. The O Rahilly was my playing companion for the day and was the essence of cordiality and cheerfulness. 

                                   Paul McCormack - Order of Merit Winner 2017 

It was a battle that captivated the world of blind golf; who would reach the Everest of Irish Blind Golf; who would succeed last year's last gasp champion, Willem Wally Roode. Well all was revealed at the Hermitage GC Classic, where Paul McCormack took an unassailable and uncatchable lead, and is this year's Order of Merit Champion. Well done to Paul and his amiable and highly talented guide, Jim Kavanagh. Daragh Stakelum pipped Carol Brill for 2nd place, while Carol pipped your blogger by a further point, in what was a battle royal.

                                      Goodbye until the Next Time 

Apologies for the shorter than usual blog, and goodbye and God bless you all, until the next time.

Ed Maguire


Number of views (603)/Comments (0)